Q: What are versions?
A:
Versions is a new feature, to allow Ops Platform users to publish multiple versions of their Ops with more flexibility.

Q: How do I version my Op changes?
A:
When you make a change to your Op that you would like to publish, you have to update the version number shown after the Op name in the ops.yml  file, for example name: my-op:0.1.1 .

Q: Where can I see my Op versions?
A:
Op versions will be listed with their Changelog information on the Registry Op pages. This feature is coming soon!

Q: What if I published my Op before this new version feature release?
A:
All Ops published before this new feature, automatically start with version set to 0.1.0 .

Q: If I publish my Op as public are all the versions of my Op public?
A:
No, we have changed the Platform to make versions public/private, not the Op. This means that you can publish a public version(s) of your Op for the community, and have a private version(s) for your team.

Q: Do I have to follow "Semantic Versioning" for my Ops?
A:
We recommend using Semantic Versioning. How ever, you can use what ever names or numbers to version your Ops as long as each version is unique for the Op being published. 

Q: Why does the Op ask me add a description when I publish?
A:
This acts as a Changelog for the versions of your Op for your team and the community to see (if the Op version is public).

Q: How do I remove an Op version?
A:
We changed the ops remove  feature to act on versions. Now you can remove individual versions of an Op that you no longer want to use. To completely remove an Op you have to remove all version. Since the version names are unique, removed version names cannot be reused for the same Op. The Changelog on the Registry page for your Op will display version that were removed as well as the delete version message that is prompted in the Ops CLI.

Did this answer your question?